Award Categories:

  • Innovator of the Year—Presented to a person, organization, program, company, or product that is driving innovation and significant progress in Michigan’s energy-efficiency industry.
  • Contractor of the Year—Presented to an energy-efficiency contractor (could be nominated because of exemplary customer service or implementing an innovative installation with a customer).
  • Best Communication, Education, or Program—Presented to an organization that has overcome the barrier of communicating the benefits of energy efficiency by developing effective communication tools, marketing campaigns, and customer or behavioral engagement programs.
  • Award Categories for Best Projects—The benefits of energy efficiency often materialize in real “bricks and mortar” projects.  We’re looking for the best projects in the categories below that highlight innovative practices, scalable technology, and real energy savings.
    • Best Projects: Residential—Presented to a homeowner who has performed energy-efficiency retrofits to a home that are producing significant energy savings.
    • Best Projects: Commercial (Private)—Presented to owners and/or operators of commercial buildings that have implemented energy-efficiency projects. Commercial buildings include multifamily residential buildings, office buildings, restaurants, warehouses, nonprofits, houses of worship, and more.
    • Best Projects: Public—Presented to a public sector entity that has implemented an energy-efficiency project. This category encourages submissions from public sector buildings, including (but not limited to) universities and municipalities, for projects ranging from street lighting to city hall buildings.
    • Best Projects: Industrial/Manufacturing—Presented to a manufacturing operation that has used energy-efficiency solutions to help reduce energy costs.
    • Best Projects: Agriculture—Presented to an agricultural operation that has implemented an energy-efficiency project.

Nominations Include:

1) Nominee: First and last name (list only one person), contact person (for awards honoring organizations), address, phone, and e-mail.
2) Nominator: First and last name, organization (if applicable), address, phone, and e-mail.
3) Award Category: A nominee may be nominated in only one category.
4) Nomination Narrative: The nomination narrative answers questions specific to each award and is used extensively by the reviewers when selecting the award recipients. Nomination narratives must include:

  • A summary of information about the project, person, or organization being nominated.
  • A description of why this nominee is the best candidate for this award.
  • A description of how this nominee positively impacts the state of Michigan.
  • A summary of the energy-efficiency work that has been completed, including any energy savings results that have been documented thus far.
  • A description of any resulting health or safety improvements

5) Background Check Agreement: Nominees that advance in the selection process may be asked to submit to a background check. It is advised that nominators inform their nominee(s) of this requirement.

Click here to preview the entire nomination form. Please note that nominations will only be accepted through the electronic form posted on this website.

Additional Information:

  • Energy-efficiency project work must have been completed between January 1, 2016, through December 31, 2016.
  • All nominations must be submitted by March 31, 2017.
  • Only one individual or organization may be nominated per nomination entry.
  • Nominators may submit as many nominees as desired.
  • If more than one nomination for an individual or organization is submitted in a category, only the first nomination received will be reviewed.
  • Self nominations are permitted.

Review and Notification Process:

All nominations go through an extensive review process that involves a volunteer peer review panel. Decisions regarding finalists and award winners are approved by the Governor’s Energy Excellence Awards Steering Committee and the Office of the Governor.

If a nominee is selected as a Governor’s Energy Excellence Awards finalist, the nominator and the nominee will be notified by mail. If a nominee is not selected, only the nominator will be notified by mail.