

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 11, 2016

Awards Contact: Liz Boyd, Liz Boyd Public Relations 517-881-6713 liz@lizboydpublicrelations.com

# Governor Recognizes Weiss Centennial Farms for Reducing Energy Waste

Best Agriculture Project in Second Annual Governor's Energy Excellence Awards Competition

**LANSING** — Weiss Centennial Farms was among eight organizations and individuals that received the Governor's Energy Excellence Award for their successful efforts to reduce energy waste. The award winners were announced by Gov. Rick Snyder and honored at a ceremony at Michigan State University in East Lansing on August 11.

The farm was selected as Best Agriculture Project for installing an industrial gasification furnace and a 5hp compressor. The new equipment should help them realize a 50 percent savings in natural gas and a 40 percent savings in electricity. The new furnace also has no smoke emission, minimal heat emission, and produces very little creosote.

"Reducing energy waste will be a critically important part of an energy policy that will preserve Michigan's comeback and protect our wonderful natural resources for decades to come," said the governor. "The individuals and organizations honored today should be proud of their innovative efforts, and I encourage all Michiganders to take the necessary steps to be more energy efficient."

The award for Best Agriculture Project is presented to an agricultural operation that has implemented an energy-efficiency project in the previous year. The finalists in the category this year were GDW Farms of Holland and the Miller Family Farm of Carney. Honorable Mention went to Coveyou Scenic Farm Market of Petoskey.

Following is a comprehensive list of the other 2016 honorees by category.

#### **Best Projects — Commercial (Private)**

Winner: Odawa Casino Resort, Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, Petoskey Finalist: Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College, L'Anse Finalist: Visteon Corporation, Van Buren Township Honorable Mention: PK Housing and Management, Okemos

#### **Best Projects** — Public

Winner: Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo Finalist: East Jackson Community Schools, Jackson Finalist: Parchment School District, Parchment Honorable Mention: Michigan State University, East Lansing

#### **Best Projects — Residential**

Winner: Michael Eick, Clinton Township Finalist: Matthew Grocoff, Ann Arbor Finalist: Peter McWethy, Kalamazoo Honorable Mention: Whitney Jonas, Kalamazoo

#### **Best Projects — Industrial/Manufacturing**

*Winner:* Cargill Salt, St. Clair *Finalist:* Graphic Packaging International, Battle Creek

#### **Contractor of the Year**

Winner: Oscar W. Larson Company, Clarkston Finalist: Bel-Aire Heating and Air Conditioning, Portage Finalist: Performance Engineering Group, Inc., Livonia Honorable Mention: Randazzo Mechanical Heating and Cooling, Macomb

#### **Best Communication or Education Program**

Winner: Habitat for Humanity of Kent County, Grand Rapids Finalist: City of Holland Finalist: Muskegon County Department of Veterans Affairs, Muskegon Honorable Mention: Michigan Farm Energy Program, East Lansing

Innovator of the Year Winner: Dennis Schultz — Terra Caloric, Alpena Finalist: John Slagter — The Mackinac Technology Company, Grand Rapids Finalist: Venntis Technologies, LLC, Holland Honorable Mention: Nextek Power Systems, Detroit

###

The <u>Governor's Energy Excellence Awards</u> recognize Michigan organizations and individuals for their commitment to responsible energy consumption. The awards are supported, in part, by a grant from the Michigan Energy Office (MEO) with funding from U.S. Department of Energy Award #DE-EE0006226. (The MEO is a federally designated state agency within the Michigan Agency for Energy). Other event sponsors include CLEAResult, Consumers Energy, DNV-GL, DTE Energy, SEMCO Energy Gas Company, Solutions for Energy Efficient Logistics, and The Dow Chemical Company. For more information, please visit <u>www.mienergyexcellence.org.</u>

### Links:

*Finalist photos and project descriptions: <u>http://mienergyexcellence.org/award-finalists-and-</u> <u>winners-2016/</u>*