

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 11, 2016

Awards Contact: Liz Boyd, Liz Boyd Public Relations

517-881-6713

liz@lizboydpublicrelations.com

Governor Recognizes Cargill Salt for Reducing Energy Waste

Best Industrial/Manufacturing Project in Second Annual Governor's Energy Excellence Awards Competition

LANSING — Cargill Salt was among eight organizations and individuals that received the Governor's Energy Excellence Award for their successful efforts to reduce energy waste. The award winners were announced by Gov. Rick Snyder and honored at a ceremony at Michigan State University in East Lansing on August 11.

Cargill Salt was selected as Best Industrial/Manufacturing Project for, among other things, replacing its coal-natural gas saturated heat steam boiler and its natural gas package boiler with a single, new 284.4 MMBTU boiler. This change resulted in energy savings of nearly 1.2 million therms, enough to power more than 14,000 homes each year.

"Reducing energy waste will be a critically important part of an energy policy that will preserve Michigan's comeback and protect our wonderful natural resources for decades to come," said the governor. "The individuals and organizations honored today should be proud of their innovative efforts, and I encourage all Michiganders to take the necessary steps to be more energy efficient."

The award for Best Industrial/Manufacturing Project is presented each year to a manufacturing operation that uses energy-efficiency solutions to help reduce energy costs. The other finalist in the category this year was Graphic Packaging International of Battle Creek.

Following is a comprehensive list of the other 2016 honorees by category.

Best Projects — Commercial (Private)

Winner: Odawa Casino Resort, Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, Petoskey

Finalist: Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College, L'Anse

Finalist: Visteon Corporation, Van Buren Township

Honorable Mention: PK Housing and Management, Okemos

Best Projects — **Public**

Winner: Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo Finalist: East Jackson Community Schools, Jackson Finalist: Parchment School District, Parchment

Honorable Mention: Michigan State University, East Lansing

Best Projects — **Residential**

Winner: Michael Eick, Clinton Township Finalist: Matthew Grocoff, Ann Arbor Finalist: Peter McWethy, Kalamazoo

Honorable Mention: Whitney Jonas, Kalamazoo

Best Projects — **Agriculture**

Winner: Weiss Centennial Farms, Frankenmuth

Finalist: GDW Farms, Holland

Finalist: Miller Family Farm, Carney

Honorable Mention: Coveyou Scenic Farm Market, Petoskey

Contractor of the Year

Winner: Oscar W. Larson Company, Clarkston

Finalist: Bel-Aire Heating and Air Conditioning, Portage Finalist: Performance Engineering Group, Inc., Livonia

Honorable Mention: Randazzo Mechanical Heating and Cooling, Macomb

Best Communication or Education Program

Winner: Habitat for Humanity of Kent County, Grand Rapids

Finalist: City of Holland

Finalist: Muskegon County Department of Veterans Affairs, Muskegon Honorable Mention: Michigan Farm Energy Program, East Lansing

Innovator of the Year

Winner: Dennis Schultz — Terra Caloric, Alpena

Finalist: John Slagter — The Mackinac Technology Company, Grand Rapids

Finalist: Venntis Technologies, LLC, Holland

Honorable Mention: Nextek Power Systems, Detroit

###

The <u>Governor's Energy Excellence Awards</u> recognize Michigan organizations and individuals for their commitment to responsible energy consumption. The awards are supported, in part, by a grant from the Michigan Energy Office (MEO) with funding from U.S. Department of Energy Award #DE-EE0006226. (The MEO is a federally designated state agency within the Michigan

Agency for Energy). Other event sponsors include CLEAResult, Consumers Energy, DNV-GL, DTE Energy, SEMCO Energy Gas Company, Solutions for Energy Efficient Logistics, and The Dow Chemical Company. For more information, please visit www.mienergyexcellence.org.

Links:

Finalist photos and project descriptions: http://mienergyexcellence.org/award-finalists-and-winners-2016/