

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 11, 2016

Awards Contact: Liz Boyd, Liz Boyd Public Relations 517-881-6713 liz@lizboydpublicrelations.com

# Governor Recognizes Oscar W. Larson Company for Reducing Energy Waste

Contractor of the Year in Second Annual Governor's Energy Excellence Awards Competition

**LANSING** — The Oscar W. Larson Company was among eight organizations and individuals that received the Governor's Energy Excellence Award for their successful efforts to reduce energy waste. The award winners were announced by Gov. Rick Snyder and honored at a ceremony at Michigan State University in East Lansing on August 11.

The company was selected as Contractor of the Year for helping 83 small businesses in Southeast Michigan submit applications to the DTE Energy Efficiency Program for Business in 2015. Twelve of those customers also received a 20 percent Multi-Measure Bonus, because the Oscar W. Larson Company provided them with energy-efficient lighting products and food service equipment. Altogether, the company has helped DTE Energy customers save over 2 million kWh of electricity and reap more than \$284,000 worth of incentives.

"Reducing energy waste will be a critically important part of an energy policy that will preserve Michigan's comeback and protect our wonderful natural resources for decades to come," said the governor. "The individuals and organizations honored today should be proud of their innovative efforts, and I encourage all Michiganders to take the necessary steps to be more energy efficient."

The Contractor of the Year award is presented to an energy-efficiency contractor that provides exemplary customer service and/or implements an innovative installation with a customer. The finalists in the category this year were Bel-Aire Heating and Conditioning of Portage and Performance Engineering Group of Livonia. Honorable Mention went to Randazzo Mechanical Heating and Cooling of Macomb.

Following is a comprehensive list of the other 2016 honorees by category.

## **Best Projects** — Commercial (Private)

Winner: Odawa Casino Resort, Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, Petoskey

Finalist: Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College, L'Anse

Finalist: Visteon Corporation, Van Buren Township

Honorable Mention: PK Housing and Management, Okemos

#### **Best Projects** — **Public**

Winner: Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo Finalist: East Jackson Community Schools, Jackson Finalist: Parchment School District, Parchment

Honorable Mention: Michigan State University, East Lansing

## **Best Projects** — **Residential**

Winner: Michael Eick, Clinton Township Finalist: Matthew Grocoff, Ann Arbor Finalist: Peter McWethy, Kalamazoo

Honorable Mention: Whitney Jonas, Kalamazoo

## **Best Projects** — **Industrial/Manufacturing**

Winner: Cargill Salt, St. Clair

Finalist: Graphic Packaging International, Battle Creek

# **Best Projects** — **Agriculture**

Winner: Weiss Centennial Farms, Frankenmuth

Finalist: GDW Farms, Holland

Finalist: Miller Family Farm, Carney

Honorable Mention: Coveyou Scenic Farm Market, Petoskey

#### **Best Communication or Education Program**

Winner: Habitat for Humanity of Kent County, Grand Rapids

Finalist: City of Holland

Finalist: Muskegon County Department of Veterans Affairs, Muskegon Honorable Mention: Michigan Farm Energy Program, East Lansing

#### **Innovator of the Year**

Winner: Dennis Schultz — Terra Caloric, Alpena

Finalist: John Slagter — The Mackinac Technology Company, Grand Rapids

Finalist: Venntis Technologies, LLC, Holland

Honorable Mention: Nextek Power Systems, Detroit

###

The <u>Governor's Energy Excellence Awards</u> recognize Michigan organizations and individuals for their commitment to responsible energy consumption. The awards are supported, in part, by a grant from the Michigan Energy Office (MEO) with funding from U.S. Department of Energy

Award #DE-EE0006226. (The MEO is a federally designated state agency within the Michigan Agency for Energy). Other event sponsors include CLEAResult, Consumers Energy, DNV-GL, DTE Energy, SEMCO Energy Gas Company, Solutions for Energy Efficient Logistics, and The Dow Chemical Company. For more information, please visit <a href="https://www.mienergyexcellence.org">www.mienergyexcellence.org</a>.

#### Links:

Finalist photos and project descriptions: <a href="http://mienergyexcellence.org/award-finalists-and-winners-2016/">http://mienergyexcellence.org/award-finalists-and-winners-2016/</a>